Pop-Tribute

In this post I’ll be taking a brief break from my Korean misadventures to speak about one of my heroes: Cap’n Crunch My dad. Over the years my dad has taught me almost everything I know. Here is a list of the many things he has taught me:

– Guacamole without garlic salt is just mushy avocados.

 

– Family is the most important thing in the world…except for an hour with the Economist and a bag of tortilla chips.

 

– If you ask a question about gardening, plumbing, or electrical engineering you are about to get at least a 1-hour hands-on lesson.

 

– Life can be a surrealist dream; you never really know where you will be tomorrow.

 

– Animals can get lost, cars can get lost, keys can get lost…but Carvers just go on “adventures.”

 

– Treat all girls as if they were your sister…call them names, never give them any quiet time, and judge all other boys they hang out with.

 

– You should always go to the top of the mountain, just to look down from the top…and claim it as Carver territory.

 

– When someone bakes you a pie (gives you an opportunity) you eat it.

 

In my earliest years my dad carried me in this little backpack whenever we all went hiking. As I got older he bought a little trailer for the back of his bike so that he could take me on bike rides, and he would hold me on his shoulders so that I could get some waves as a toddler. My dad taught me how to skateboard, ride a bike, boogie board, skii, and rock climb (my older brother taught me to play video games through my constant barrage of questions). My dad has some big metaphorical shoulders.

I suppose this whole post has been to say one thing really: I love you Dad My Dad is better than your dad.

Just kidding, love you Dad,

Jordan

Tags: , , ,

About Jordan Carver

I just love life, experiencing it all, and it is definitely better with more people participating. Whether it's surfing, rock climbing, or exploring the forests, it's always better to share the magic.

Leave a Reply

