Typhoon Tuesdays

The typhoon that gave me a day off!

Typhoon Bolaven has ripped its way up through the Eastern Sea (or Japan Sea if you care) and hit the Korean Peninsula. As much as I love having a day off, it’s a little scary to think I’m living in an area that has typhoons. When asked by my students what I was going to do with my day off, I couldn’t help but give them the obvious answers to my “Typhoon Tuesday” plans:

– I’m going to kite-surf the Gapcheon River.

– I’m going to Mary Poppins (which is a verb) off of my building’s roof.

– I’m going to take an against-air-run so that I feel like I’m going super fast.

– I’m going to tweet about each change in wind speed.

Before I found out that typhoon Bolaven was named after the Laotian highlands, I just thought it was funny. My amazingly talented and skilled brother, Braven, now has his own typhoon. Not the same you say? Well, not exactly I agree. But, “Bolaven” sounds like how many of my students, in their newly acquired Korean-English accents would pronounce his name.

A close recreation of the man I saw on my wy home.

As I was running home today (ya, sometimes I like to jog in typhoons just to say, ‘I run in typhoons’) I saw an old man sweeping the sidewalk. Unfortunately, due to a top-heavy elderly community and a lack of government provisions for those people, many old people have government-given jobs such as picking up trash and sweeping. Now, the funny part of this whole scenario was that the wind was blowing, the rain was pouring down, and here was this little old man, sweeping the sidewalk in an endless, futile battle towards cleanliness. Fight on, good sir. Fight on!

A Typhoon-Trapped Typist,

Jordan

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Jordan Carver

I just love life, experiencing it all, and it is definitely better with more people participating. Whether it's surfing, rock climbing, or exploring the forests, it's always better to share the magic.

One response to “Typhoon Tuesdays”

  1. Tory says :

    I also read this article with interest. Luckily the typhoon seems to have passed Korean peninsula. While at work I thought media made a fuss so as to raise their viewer ratings but it all changed when I turend on TV after work. I couldn’t believe what I saw on TV where people seldom kept a balance just because of gust. Hopefully there are no more people injured or killed by this typhoon. By the way, your skill of taking a picture must be awesome. I also would like to discuss this kind of social issue. See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

