My Students Might Be Trolling Me – Episode 2

Sometimes an assignment comes along and I think to myself, “The students will understand how to do this one, so there is no reason to explain it in detail.” But everytime I think that way, instead of getting a straightforward response that shows they understand and can relate to the assignment…I get solid gold in comprehensive-void confusion. The Assignment:“Think of a difficult challenge that you have faced. Was there someone who helped you overcome it? This person might have been a hero to you, like Harriet Tubman was to many runaway slaves. Write a few sentences about the challenge. Then write a thank you note to the person who helped you.” Here is what I got instead:

“Thank you strange woman. She hit that boy. Then I runaway… -_-?”

Uh…what? Harriet Tubman hit a boy so you could escape your African slavery-bound existence in America to come to Korea and be a 13-yr-old girl in my Reading class…? Yup, sounds about right to me. Well, at least she said, “Thank you.”

“I will hit a fat woman and run away.”

Well, I think we can all agree, that is just no way to treat Harriet Tubman. So, either 1) She thinks Harriet Tubman is fat, is going to hit her when she helps her, and then run, or 2) In honor of the great deed that this someone did in helping her get past this difficult situation, she has agreed to “hit” a fat woman and run away (Maybe a “Strangers on a Train” type situation is at play here).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Jordan Carver

I just love life, experiencing it all, and it is definitely better with more people participating. Whether it's surfing, rock climbing, or exploring the forests, it's always better to share the magic.

Leave a Reply

