A Short Comment Before I Go

Backpacking isn’t all sunrises, fireworks, and hugs. When you are traveling, you are given the experiences of a lifetime, but the best joys in life usually come with a small amount of ache. Life is a beautiful series of roses and thorns to remind us of how great the roses are. Over the past couple days, I’ve been gripping some of those thorns as I take a break from the trip in Kuala Lumpur.  I’ve been thinking about what causes these moments, and I have come to understand that the hardest part of long-term traveling isn’t planning the trip, it isn’t carrying the bags up huge hills, standing in line for visa stamps, or even budgeting enough so that you will have a comfortable (and I use that word loosely) place when it starts raining. I believe that most people would say that the hardest part of traveling is leaving everyone you know back home; leaving the familiarity of the place you have become comfortably sedentary. However, that’s only a half-truth. You see, when you start traveling, and I mean truly traveling, you meet so many good people in so many wonderful places. They say that “home is where the heart is.” If that is true, then traveling causes you to wrap your “home” across the globe. So, as I leave the 6 months that I spent in Malaysia and head to Myanmar, I want to say that I am leaving a home, and a piece of my heart will always be here:

Travel Heart

With that being said, I will truly miss all of the people I met on this adventure: Dan, Mette, Marieke, Erik, Stefan, Petra, Pascal, Lieke, Nadine, Michael, and of course my favorite island family Sylvia, Peter, Storm, Wayne, and Malwina. I hope that we all can meet at the next “home.”

-J

Tags: , , ,

About Jordan Carver

I just love life, experiencing it all, and it is definitely better with more people participating. Whether it's surfing, rock climbing, or exploring the forests, it's always better to share the magic.

Leave a Reply

