When Percentages Don’t Work To Your Advantage

20130103-124117.jpg

Well, here is my toothpaste that I use in Korea. First off, I have to say, toothpaste in Korea has not reached the genius that is Colgate, but it usually works pretty well for the job. I bought the above toothpaste without realizing what I had grabbed off the shelf, as we gentlemen are prone to do quite often (My dad trained me to “hunt” for what I needed at the store, not “shop”). Now, I continued using this toothpaste for the next month without ever making any mental connections or forming a problem with it in my head. Then, my girlfriend, Kate, and I had a conversation about the number that is listed on the toothpaste. As far as percentages go, 90% or above is a must for anything you are putting on a product going out for public use, i.e. – “Listerine kills 99.99% of the germs in your mouth.” Could you imagine if Listerine said, “…kills 67% of the germs in your mouth.” Since I don’t speak Korean, I came up with a colorful list of what the 67% might be:

-“Now with a hard 67% more toothpaste in the tube! Because you wanted more, but 70% more would have bankrupted us!”
-“People who use our toothpaste keep 67% more of their teeth than those who use rubbing alcohol instead!”
-“402 out of 600 Dentists agree, this is REALLY toothpaste. – 67%!”
-“Only 67 dogs were harmed in the testing of this toothpaste…but their teeth are wicked white.”
-“Now with 67% real toothpaste!”

Well, I’m pretty sure one of those is the correct translation, but if it isn’t, I’m sure 67% of anything is still a bad thing. That’s a “D” in any school institute (except in most Asian countries where you are only allowed to give a “B” for fear of losing school business), that’s not great chances for coming out of a surgery, and it certainly is not reassuring when someone says, “I’m like 67% sure about it.”

Just a guy brushing 67% of his teeth…gross.
Jordan

Tags: , , , , ,

About Jordan Carver

I just love life, experiencing it all, and it is definitely better with more people participating. Whether it's surfing, rock climbing, or exploring the forests, it's always better to share the magic.

Leave a comment